South Coast Downlander

Unlimited off-peak travel for one day on all trains throughout the South Downs area operated by Southern. The area includes Brighton, Southampton, Portsmouth, Bognor Regis, Haywards Heath, Chichester, Eastbourne, Hastings, Rye and Ashford.

The ticket also gives unlimited bus travel on specified routes across the South Downs area operated by Brighton and Hove, Cuckmere, Eastbourne and Rider bus companies, more details here.

These are self-printed e-tickets and have to be purchased online at least 2 days in advance from Southern's web site.

A maximum of 5 persons can travel on one e-ticket (each must pay the appropriate fare) and the named person on the ticket must carry ID (passport, driving licence, credit card or utility bill), children must be accompanied by an adult.